FAQ :: What were the types of Old Testament sacrifices?

Burnt offering:
A whole, perfect animal was sacrificed and the blood was sprinkled on the altar. This death was seen as a substitute for the person offering the sacrifice.

Grain offering:
This was a goodwill offering to God consisting of flour, grain, or cakes along with oil. Part was burned on the altar and the rest was given to the priests.

Offering of well-being:
This offering was similar to the burnt offering except in this case, only the fat was offered on the altar. The meat was then, shared by the family in celebration and friendship with God.

Offering for sin:
The holy place of the tabernacle or the temple was defiled when someone sinned against another person or against God and it had to be cleansed. The blood of an animal was sprinkled about the place to symbolize the removal of the sin through the death that took place. Some of the meat was then given to the priest. Once the meat was consumed without incident, the people could rest, knowing that God had forgiven them.

Jesus Christ, became the final and perfect sacrifice when He died on the cross and offered himself as the spotless Lamb of God. His blood was spilled as a substitute for the blood of every man. 1 John 1:9 says that this offering was for every person:

“If we confess our sins He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”