FAQ :: What are the seven deadly sins?

The term “seven deadly sins” dates back to the Middle Ages. It refers to seven sins that were thought to lead to eternal damnation. The seven sins include pride, greed, lust, anger, gluttony, envy, and laziness.

The Bible teaches that there are no specific “deadly sins” but that all sin is death. Ephesians 2:1-2 says, “As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of the world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient.” So, we see all are dead in sin as long as they are not serving Christ. The condition of the heart determines life or death.

“All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the Lord hath laid on Him the iniquity of us all” (Is.53:6).