FAQ :: How would you describe the New Testament?

The New Testament (new covenant) was written to give us the knowledge of the character and teachings of Jesus Christ. It consists of 27 books written by at least eight men, four of them by the apostles, Matthew, John, Peter and Paul. Mark and Luke were friends and companions of the apostles and James and Jude ere brothers of Jesus. These books were written at various times during the second half of the first century.

The books in the New Testament can be grouped in this way:

Gospels – four

History – one

Prophecy – one

Epistles – twenty-one (Pauline, thirteen, General, eight)

In the New Testament, God, humanity, sin, redemption, justification, sanctification and glorification are the ongoing topics. Grace glory our Lord and Savior Jesus the Messiah is revealed.

Matthew, Mark, Luke and John tell us of Christ, His life.

Acts shows the work of the Holy Spirit.

Romans, tells us how we are saved by God’s grace.

1 and 2 Corinthians instructs the church. In 1 Corinthians Paul speaks of the mystery of the Rapture (15:50-54).

Galatians shows God’s grace alone.

Ephesians, how we are “in Christ.”

Philippians reveals Christ’s joys in all life circumstances.

Colossians is the picture of Christ exalted.

1 and 2 Thessalonians tell of the Rapture, the apostasy and the Tribulation.

1 and 2 Timothy: Rules for pastors and believers; perseverance and faith.

Titus addresses pastors and the church on godly living.

Philemon focuses on charity, Christian brotherly love.

Hebrews, an Epistle of Paul, exhorts believers, especially Jewish believers facing persecution at the time, to stay faithful to Christ because He is superior to the Judaic system, the angels, Moses the Aaronic priesthood, everything. Paul pleads that Christ’s sacrifice was once for all time and He is better than the law; that there is much more to be gained in Christ than the futility of Judaism. Pressing on in Christ produces faith, self-discipline, and an outward evidence of love and good works.

James: Shows that faith without resulting good works cannot be called true faith. “Faith without works is dead.” Faith must produce visible results of a redeemed person.

1 and 2 Peter: Peter urges faithful steadfastness during persecution and trials.

1, 2 and 3 John encourages Christian love, which will result in God’s blessings.

Jude shows the end fate of evil men, the apostates in the church.

Revelation: The Revelation of Jesus Christ is the book of consummation. Although there are numerous prophecies in the Gospels and Epistles, Revelation is the only New Testament book that focuses primarily on prophetic events. Its title means “unveiling” or “disclosure.” It is the book of unveiling of the character and program of God, penned by John during his exile on the island of Patmos relating visions and symbols of the resurrected Christ, the only authority to judge the earth, to remake it rule it in righteousness.